Fruit of the Spirit

Fruit of the Spirit – The Nine Biblical Attributes – (Gal.5:22-23)
The fruit of the Spirit is a physical manifestation of a Christian’s transformed life. In order to mature as believers, we should study and understand the attributes of the nine fold fruit:

The fruit of the Spirit includes:

1. Love – a caring and seeking for the highest good of another person without motive for personal gain

2. Joy – the feeling of gladness based on the love, grace, blessings, promises, and nearness of God that belong to those who believe in Christ.
              (Psa. 119:16; 2Cor. 6:10; 12:9; 1Pet. 1:8)

3. Peace – the quietness of heart

4. Long suffering – endurance, patience, being slow to anger or despair (Eph. 4:2; 2Tim. 3:10; Heb. 12:1)

5. Gentleness – not wanting to hurt someone or give him or her pain.

6. Goodness – zeal for truth and righteousness and a hatred for evil; it can be expressed in acts of kindness or in rebuking and correcting evil.

7. Faith – faithfulness, firm and unswerving loyalty and adherence to a person to whom one is united by promise, commitment, trustworthiness,
                  and honesty (Mat. 23:23; 1Tim. 6:12; 2Tim. 2:2; 4:7).

8. Meekness – restraint coupled with strength and courage; it describes a person who can be angry when anger is needed and
                              humbly submissive when submission is needed (2Tim. 2:25; 1Pet. 3:15).

9. Temperance – having control or mastery over one’s own desires and passions, including faithfulness to one’s marriage vows;
                                also purity, chastity (1Cor. 9:25; Tit. 1:8; 2:5).